Umbrellas on the Brain

November 5, 2009 at 3:14 pm 23 comments

The relentless rain here in the Philippines has me thinking about rain gear once again.  So I did a little searching around for some cool umbrellas and found these lovely pieces.  I personally love the umbrella for two (pictured first) and the “hoodbrella” (pictured third).  The last umbrella pictured was just kind of bizarre to me but interesting none-the less.  I don’t know if I would want to be walking around in a little bubble, but I do wonder how functional the bubble umbrella is.

Entry filed under: Design.

New Mina Milk Website!!! Drawing Tops by Thomas Forsyth

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. randomonious  |  November 5, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    i need one of the hood ones…NOW!

    Reply
  • 2. Ricardo Pizarro Iturrieta  |  November 5, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Je me sens bien, très original et drôle, les différents types de parapluies

    Reply
  • 3. dancingirja  |  November 5, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    the umbrella for two is cute – well ugly, but you know what I mean

    Reply
  • 4. ZZMike  |  November 5, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    I wouldn’t want to take #2 (the Japanese long sword) through an airport…….

    The last one isn’t practical: it may keep your hair dry, but the rest of you is going to get soaked.

    Reply
    • 5. smilevictoria  |  November 6, 2009 at 2:09 am

      The way the wind is blowing here I would appreciate the bubble. The rain is hitting the pane at right angle tonight, but I would wear a long trench coat, I can take the coat off to dry and the hair…..well those minutes styling aren’t a wasted Smiles

      Reply
  • 6. ostrix  |  November 5, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    I love the last umbrella (the “bubble”)! I would certainly get it, if I could. It must be very functional. I also liked the picture of the kiddo, very creative approach ))

    Reply
  • 7. Finster finster… « Bremerin  |  November 5, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    […] Umbrellas on the Brain « GASBIT. […]

    Reply
  • 8. BigLittleWolf  |  November 5, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Quite entertaining! I particularly like the space age bubble look.

    The Philippines are not the only part of the planet to be inundated with rain of late. My part of the world could do with a few fine umbrellas as well. I’ve always wondered why umbrella hats have never made the rounds. They could be designed to be funny, chic, and sufficient to truly re-stream the water flow.

    Talk about a veil of tears…

    Reply
  • 9. Rob  |  November 5, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Arrrgggg! Every now and then you see something that not only should have been invented a long time ago, but that YOU should have invented a long time ago.

    Samari Umbrella. Man, it doesn’t get better than that.

    Reply
  • 10. Rob  |  November 5, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    Also, I have a fear of umbrellas (I’m 6’2″ and grew up in Seattle. That scar a milimeter from my eye is indeed from an umbrella).

    Reply
  • 11. Jaamin  |  November 5, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    The third one, this hoody style is very funny hehe I would like to try them all and see which one has the best funcionality I think the last one is pretty cool 🙂 haha I am a freak 😀

    Reply
  • 12. pedro  |  November 5, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Very Angry Samurai: “You bastard, you’ve bumped into me!”
    Politely Offended Samurai: “No! You where distracted by the rain, and YOU, Sir, have bumped into me!”
    Hence, trouble. Nice post!

    Reply
  • 13. CHristine Lek  |  November 5, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    i love the ORANGE umbrellas!! pretty =D
    It rains a lot here as well, but hey, we’ve got pretty and strong and cool umbrellas to brave the rain!

    Reply
  • 14. Pretty Project  |  November 5, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I really want the UFOCAP one to give to everyone for Christmas and then watch their faces as they try to act happy to get it. 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. adiblogger  |  November 5, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    I love the samurai one. great! where can i buy it?

    I have to check if adidas makes umbrellas too….

    regards

    Reply
  • 17. Daniel  |  November 6, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Rob, I too have an umbrella scar!! There are indeed drawbacks to being 6 feet tall or more. At least I got mine in Rome, so it sounds a bit more worldly and glamorous to me when I tell the story…

    I covet the samurai sword.

    Reply
  • 18. helen  |  November 6, 2009 at 3:31 am

    wow, these are amazing. lol why didn’t i think of that one on the kids head. but your face gets wet!

    Reply
  • 19. lifeaftereighty  |  November 6, 2009 at 3:35 am

    When you’re eighty, there’.s never a time when you can’t just wait it out. That way you don’t need an umbrella.

    Reply
  • 20. mckenzie a.c. HMS  |  November 6, 2009 at 4:39 am

    I would wear the last one all the time . It looks so cool and its like a bubble . I would not carry the 3rd one because it looks like a weapon .

    Reply
  • 21. jettroll  |  November 6, 2009 at 7:53 am

    the first one! wow! i’ve never seen anything like this – umprella for two! lol! but i think it would not be very comfortable if you walk alone under such and umbrella.
    the last one seems to be very fashionable! this one is definitely for ladies!
    Thanks! nice post!

    Reply
  • 22. cutlex  |  November 6, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Oh. Fellow filipino. :]
    The last one looks weird IMO. I wouldn’t use one for the world.

    Reply
  • 23. adventuresinadoption  |  November 6, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Oh dear. What’s up with that UFOCAP? Any kid wearing that is sure to get beat up. Yikes.

    —Megan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact

gasbit@gmail.com

Categories

Recent Comments

pauline on Chanel Bocce Set
gasbit on Footsie
megan on Footsie
pauline on Joggling
pauline on Gangsters

  • 47,737 hits

