Meuse Beer Print by Alphonse Mucha

September 21, 2009 at 2:40 pm Leave a comment

My buddy Ben recently left my lovely island nation the Philippines to pursue adventure in Germany.  It so happens that he is also one of my more loyal readers and is in Germany just in time for Oktoberfest.  So I have decided to honor my buddy Ben and Oktoberfest by putting up a post containing this beautiful print by Alphonse Mucha.  I was looking online and apparently Bieres de la Meuse means “Beer of the muse” (feel free to correct me if I’m wrong), which I find fitting since my goal for this blog is to spur on creativity.  If you look close enough you will find that the poster’s background is adorned with some beer ingredients such as “barley, hops, and large poppy flowers indigenous to north-eastern France”(Rennert/Weil p.126).  I think it is another example of a master at work incorporating his knowledge of the product being advertised to create a beautiful composition.

Entry filed under: Art, Design. Tags: , , .

Sabino Aguad Feist “Secret Heart”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact

gasbit@gmail.com

Categories

Recent Comments

pauline on Chanel Bocce Set
gasbit on Footsie
megan on Footsie
pauline on Joggling
pauline on Gangsters

  • 47,715 hits

